LA: The City of Dreams (and all the food you could ever want)

Recently, I travelled to LA and in the 3 days I was there, ate so much delicious food. I want to help those foodies out there to show you where I went and what I enjoyed so you can use this as a little travel guide when you go!

Chicken Sandwich Chicken sandwich and fries

The Honor Bar-Beverly Hills

So DELICIOUS! The chicken sandwich has been called one of the best in LA and after taking one bite…I believe it. There is a kale coleslaw that is so unique and really adds great flavor to the sandwich. The bread tasted so fresh and the chicken wasn’t too battered/fried. It was the perfect snack to get after I was sitting in a car for 6 hours. The fries here are super good and I love the 2 dipping sauces that come with it. Also this place is very cute and classy and super LA!

Recently, I travelled to LA and in the 3 days I was there, ate so much delicious food. I want to help those foodies out there to show you where I went and what I enjoyed so you can use this as a little travel guide when you go!

Chicken Sandwich Chicken sandwich and fries

The Honor Bar-Beverly Hills

So DELICIOUS! The chicken sandwich has been called one of the best in LA and after taking one bite…I believe it. There is a kale coleslaw that is so unique and really adds great flavor to the sandwich. The bread tasted so fresh and the chicken wasn’t too battered/fried. It was the perfect snack to get after I was sitting in a car for 6 hours. The fries here are super good and I love the 2 dipping sauces that come with it. Also this place is very cute and classy and super LA!

MacaroonsSmoked Salmon Eggs BenedictMacaroons galore!

Bottega Louie – Downtown

This place has hands down the best service ever! This place really trains their staff to offer above and beyond service. I was stunned. This place is great for brunch primarily, but any meal really! The classy ambience makes for a special meal. I got the salmon eggs benedict and it completely wowed me. Instead of english muffins there are hash brown circles on the bottom. I loved the replacement since I can never finish extra hash browns on the side of my benedict. The food tasted just as good as it looked.

The macaroons came in a very cute box (bonus points for nice packaging) and the macaroons were to die for. Each one I had was so good and there were a variety of flavors. The earl grey macaroon is one of my favorites from the ones I tried.

IntelligentsiaAcai Bowl

Intelligentsia Coffee – Venice Beach and Flake – Venice Beach

Next stop, Abbot Kinney Boulevard in Venice Beach! Luckily we found parking pretty easily when we arrived. Abbot Kinney Boulevard has a lot of restaurants, coffee shops and stores so it is a great place to stroll around. However, it was very hot when we got there so we didn’t stay for too long. We did stop by Intelligentsia Coffee and I got a chai latte to start off my day. We walked to Flake and they have delicious Acai bowls. The acai bowl was huge and a great deal. It definitely got me energized to start off my day.

Then we went to Venice Beach. Venice Beach is home of the strange and fascinating, but it is definitely a must stop when in LA. There is everything from little shops there to people selling art along the walking area.

20150905_134855Snapchat--1192579375807921899

Next stop! Zelda’s Corner Deli – Venice Beach

This place is tucked away around a corner of the main walking area of Venice Beach. Upon walking in, I got a very old school vibe about this place. We ordered sandwiches and while we were waiting we got free donuts to try. They were tiny and delicious! The sandwiches here are BOMB. I got the Mr. Electric and it did not disappoint. I also got jalapenos added on my sandwich as well.

Snapchat--1973171108851235479

Lock & Key – Koreatown

Look at how cute my drink was!! It was also delicious as well! This bar is so cute and there was a crowd and a wait when I came here on the weekend. Inside has a speakeasy feel and it does get a little crowded with little area to stand around. However, there is a great outdoor patio and the DJ was on fleek! I was definitely feeling the vibe here (and know I had a good night since I ended it with tacos)

20150906_210935

Manna Korean BBQ – Little Tokyo

O…M…G…my first All You Can Eat Korean BBQ experience. What better place to go than to LA to eat it?! This place offered all the side dishes I wanted in a buffet style…(CHAPCHAE HEAVEN) The meat was super good, but I am such a newbie so if you are an experienced Korean BBQ go-er, take my words lightly. I especially liked the spicy pork! I left here way too full but so completely satisfied.

Snapchat--684171464584182101

Brian’s Shave Ice – Sawtelle

Yes, it tasted just as good as it looks in the picture. I always hated how every shaved ice I got ran out of flavoring halfway through and I was left with half a scoop of useless ice at the end. However, this shave ice place was the entire opposite of that. There was flavor all through the bowl. I got the dole whip in the middle since it was free with my Yelp check in! I also got condensed milk on top, since it was my cheat weekend. This place is great for a quick and CHEAP mid-day pick me up.

Snapchat--520721843468351143

Curry House Coco Ichibanya – Koreatown

Just look at the picture and tell me it doesn’t look decadent…I got the keema cream curry udon and we shared the curry cheese fries. Oy, this meal was one for the books. So simple yet so delicious. I am a HUGE fan of noodles…they truly are my weakness along with fries. The curry cheese fries were so delicious – even better than chili cheese fries since curry>chili all day every day. The cream went really well with the curry udon.

IMG_20150912_154555

The Bun Shop – LA

The Bun Shop…the Korean meat adventures continue! The Bun shop is known for having various baos (buns) and using a meat and other veggies and ingredients to make a delectable combo. There was so much flavor packed in such a small bun and it was very unique. I love the Korean fusion!!! I got the kalbi and the katsu and both were good, though I will say the kalbi is the MUST TRY.

20150907_11050520150908_121525

Porto’s – Glendale

Oh Porto’s….potato balls…enough said.

The popular favorites are the potato balls, guava tart, cheese roll and guava and cheese tart. Ah, love it all and I definitely brought home too many boxes to count. Porto’s is a Cuban bakery and is famous. I believed it when I saw the line out the door and pure and utter chaos upon ordering. I was so confused I was so glad I had my sister from another mister, Sarah there to help guide my way the entire weekend. The potato balls have a meat mixture on the inside with mashed potatos surrounding it and then a light breading around. It is so good and I would eat it everyday if I could look skinny and eat whatever I wanted. Sadly, I have to pick and choose and it’s a good thing I don’t live in LA because I would be eating this on the reg.

20150907_132701

Milk – LA

And to end my eating adventures, MILK for their macaroon sandwiches. I remember seeing their perfect macaroon sandwiches via Instagram oh so long ago and have been aching to try one since then. I got the fruity pebbles sandwich and wow was it delicious. It was a very sweet end to my trip but definitely was a great decision. I of course had to come to the og macaroon ice cream sandwich place before I left.

And there you have it, my first blog post! Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

